Recent release from the College of physicians

On December 7, 2015, the College of physicians issued a release pertaining to advertising and use of physician’s title for commercial purpose.

In this release, the physicians are reminded of their obligations pertaining to advertising, such as the safeguard of their professional independence or the prohibition of using the physician’s title for commercial purpose.

The College of physicians is of the opinion that a physician cannot associate his title with a pharmaceutical company, nor to a drug’s commercial name that he uses or prescribes, nor to the logos of a commercial corporation, a drug or a product.

Also, the College of physicians informs physicians, whose name appears in a list of prescribers on pharmaceutical companies’ websites, that this practice constitutes the commercial use of their title and they should take the appropriate steps to have their name removed accordingly.

You can access the full release’s content here (in French only): http://www.cmq.org/nouvelle/en/publicite-et-utilisation-titre-de-medecin-fins-commerciales.aspx

Search

Récent communiqué du Collège des médecins

La Direction des enquêtes du Collège des médecins diffusait le 7 décembre dernier un communiqué portant sur la publicité et l’utilisation du titre de médecin à des fins commerciales.

Dans ce communiqué, sont rappelées les obligations du médecin en matière de publicité, tel que le fait de sauvegarder son indépendance professionnelle ou l’interdiction de permettre l’utilisation de son titre à des fins commerciales.

Le Collège des médecins est ainsi d’avis que le médecin ne peut lier son titre à une compagnie pharmaceutique ni au nom commercial des médicaments utilisés ou prescrits, ni même aux logos d’une compagnie commerciale, d’un médicament ou d’un produit.

Enfin, le Collège des médecins informe les médecins dont le nom se retrouve sur une liste de médecins prescripteurs sur le site web de compagnies pharmaceutiques qu’il s’agit d’une utilisation du titre à des fins commerciales et les médecins visés devraient faire sans tarder les démarches nécessaires afin que leur nom en soit retiré.

Vous pouvez accéder au texte complet du communiqué à l’adresse suivante : http://www.cmq.org/nouvelle/fr/publicite-et-utilisation-titre-de-medecin-fins-commerciales.aspx

Recherche